top of page

WCC-ites STEP UP TO SERVE THROUGH STEPONE PROJECT

WCC-ites got an opportunity to serve Covid victims during severe lockdown through the StepOne project by monitoring home-isolated patients of Coimbatore and Kanyakumari districts through an app called FreshDesk which was specially designed for this purpose.



The Certificate of Recognition received by our college

StepOne project was initiated by a group of technology and healthcare professionals to assist the government with technical and human support in the fight against Coronavirus. During the second wave of Covid-19 in Tamil Nadu, there was a shortage of beds in hospitals and many patients had to isolate themselves in their homes. It was challenging for healthcare workers and other officials to monitor the condition of home-isolated patients. This team came up with a brilliant idea and served as a bridge between patients and government officials in-charge.

An app called FreshDesk was created specially for this purpose. The details of patients were uploaded in this database and volunteers received an orientation for its use. The volunteers, using this app, contacted home-isolated patients in Kanyakumari and Coimbatore districts. Personal information was checked with the patients for accuracy, in order to make further contacts easier. Information regarding their health condition was collected, updated and passed on to doctors, if there was a need or emergency. The volunteers also motivated the patients and helped them fight the disease proactively. The app served as a link between the volunteers and the needy and also ensured the privacy of both volunteers and patients. The details of patients were made available in the form of tickets that appeared to the volunteers whenever they turned on their availability icon. People from various fields volunteered to serve the needy through this project.

Our Principal, Dr. Lilian I Jasper, was contacted through email, requesting the participation of our college in the service. Dr Christina Nancy, Coordinator of Extension Activities Shift I, helped in coordinating the volunteers. Students who were interested and those who knew Tamil fluently, became a part of this project. They clarified their doubts and sought help from the officials through a Whatsapp group created for this purpose.

Our college received a Certificate of Recognition for active participation. This project helped the student volunteers become more empathetic and socially responsible human beings.


VOICE OF THE VOLUNTEERS:


"The whole process taught me the importance of home isolation during the pandemic and I cherish being empathetic to the children and elderly people who stay with me. I believe that it made me a better human being and a good volunteer."

  • Ms. Meenakshi, III B.Sc. Mathematics


"Initially, I was confused about using the Freshdesk platform and I was hesitant about taking up phone conversations but other StepOne Volunteers' constant instructions and guidance helped me enormously. I believe that I have become more conscious of what has been going on around me and I am glad that I was able to connect with others’ emotions, triumphs, and sufferings, and also in offering comfort to them. I would also say that this project made me realise that I had done something productive rather than being idle during the pandemic."

  • Ms. Raghini Devi, II M.Sc. CST


" I felt good when I was able to support the needy not only medically but also mentally. I'm grateful to this project for letting me comfort people when they were in trouble."

  • Ms. Christina Margaret, III B.A. English

Comments


bottom of page