top of page

Extreme rain takes toll



Pictures showing the waterlogging and one of the fallen trees in the college campus.

The record-breaking spells of rain that lashed Chennai, its suburbs and various other parts of the State, starting from the second week of November, took a toll on academic work. Since the government ordered closure of schools and colleges on days with heavy rainfall, the academic calendar had to be reorganised, with tests and practical exams having to be rescheduled.

Waterlogging was a major issue faced by residents in many parts of Chennai and other towns, making it difficult for transportation of essential goods and public transport. Flooding of roads and residential localities also led to the infestation of mosquitoes, insects and snakes. Stagnant water gave rise to bad odour and increased risk of infections. Sanjanaa from III Psychology shares her experience during the floods: “The water had entered my grandparents’ house which is on the ground floor. Thus a family of 9, and a dog, had to be accommodated on the first floor, in my house. We were unable to go downstairs as the water was up to knee level in our parking lot. We had a lot of trouble with insects as well as water snakes.” She continued, “Since our neighbourhood has many elderly people, my cousins and I had to frequently wade through water to buy essentials for them and ensure their safety. It was a very stressful week as I knew I had to do my academic assignments, but was unable to complete even the smallest one due to my state of anxiety because of flooding and the uncertainty of what was going to happen the next minute.”

The erratic internet signals and power outage caused due to the rains further added to the difficulties faced by people. Sheryl Pauline from II English was one of the students who was affected by this. “One of the major problems I faced was power outages for prolonged periods of time; there was no internet as a result. I felt disconnected from the outside world and did not know about any developments outside. I was extremely restless. I couldn't read, I couldn't write; it was bad, to say the least,” she says.

The college campus was not spared either. Though no major damage was caused, rainwater had flooded parts of the campus which made it difficult for hostelites to move around. In addition, a few trees on campus fell due to the heavy downpour.


Comments


bottom of page